Menu ENN Search

Adaptation au changement climatique et atténuation de ses effets sur la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle au Honduras

Visualiser cet article en PDF

Read an English version of this article here

José Lino Pacheco est directeur de l’Unité technique de la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle, secrétaire de la coordination générale du gouvernement du Honduras et point focal national SUN.

Susan Lopez est spécialiste de la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle au sein de l’unité technique de la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle et secrétaire de la coordination générale du gouvernement du Honduras.

Adriana Hernandez est professeur associée de nutrition humaine et de sécurité alimentaire au ministère des Sciences alimentaires de l’université de Zamorano, au Honduras.

Lucía Escobar est associée au programme de nutrition du Programme alimentaire mondial des Nations unies au Honduras.

Introduction

Le Honduras est un pays d’Amérique centrale qui compte plus de neuf millions d’habitants, répartis en neuf groupes ethniques différents. La famine augmente et on estime qu’elle touche 1,4 million de personnes (2017)1. Près d’un enfant sur cinq (23 %) de moins de cinq ans (EM5) souffre d’un retard de croissance ; dans les zones les plus vulnérables, cette proportion passe à un sur deux2.  Dans le même temps, l’urbanisation rapide entraîne une augmentation de la consommation d’aliments transformés et une baisse de l’activité physique, ce qui contribue à l’augmentation des taux de surcharge pondérale et d’obésité et du risque de maladies non transmissibles (MNT) liées à la nutrition. Environ 51 % des femmes au Honduras sont en surcharge pondérale ou obèses (2012)2.

Un pourcentage élevé de la population vit dans la pauvreté (64 %) et l’extrême pauvreté (40 %), la plupart des personnes extrêmement pauvres vivant dans les zones rurales (69 %)3.  Le Honduras est également très vulnérable au changement climatique4 et se situe dans ce que l’on appelle le « corridor de la sécheresse », une zone particulièrement exposée aux sécheresses irrégulières et prolongées. L’augmentation des effets du climat a donné lieu à de nouveaux défis ; il faut donc renforcer la résilience de la population pour lutter contre la sous-nutrition, la surcharge pondérale et l’obésité et les maladies non transmissibles. 

Politique et plans au Honduras pour faire face au changement climatique

Au Honduras, la principale politique qui vise à aider la population à s’adapter aux effets du changement climatique est le Cadre stratégique de lutte contre le changement climatique. Celui-ci comprend des objectifs en matière d’agriculture, de sols et de sécurité alimentaire, ainsi que l’amélioration de la résilience des cultures et des pâturages au stress thermique et hydrique et la prévention ou la réduction de l’incidence des parasites et des maladies. Parmi les autres objectifs figurent la lutte contre l’érosion des sols, la perte de productivité et la désertification visant à préserver et à améliorer la qualité nutritionnelle des aliments.

Le Plan national d’adaptation au changement climatique (2018-2030), qui est lié à cette politique, donne la priorité à la production agroalimentaire et à la souveraineté alimentaire, ainsi qu’au renforcement des systèmes d’alerte précoce et de gestion des risques liés aux événements naturels extrêmes. Le plan met également l’accent sur l’élargissement des partenariats avec les ministères, le secteur privé, les universités, les agences des Nations unies et les organisations non gouvernementales (ONG) internationales et nationales afin de maximiser les approches intégrées pour accroître la productivité des petits exploitants et la génération de revenus grâce à des systèmes alimentaires plus durables.

Lier les réponses humanitaires et le développement

Dans un contexte de complexité croissante due à la pauvreté, à la sous-nutrition, à l’augmentation de la surcharge pondérale et de l’obésité, aux effets du changement climatique et à un historique de situations d’urgence liées à la sécheresse, le gouvernement et ses partenaires investissent dans des solutions plus durables pour restaurer la base de ressources naturelles, protéger les communautés contre les chocs climatiques et prévoir les événements météorologiques extrêmes. Le renforcement de la résilience et de la capacité d’adaptation des petits exploitants agricoles, dont les rendements sont souvent inférieurs à ceux de tous les autres producteurs alimentaires, est considéré comme essentiel pour prévenir la faim et la malnutrition au Honduras. La pire sécheresse qu’ait connue le pays, en 2014-2016, a nécessité la déclaration d’une situation d’urgence, l’accent étant mis sur l’aide à apporter aux 280 000 familles les plus touchées par la sécheresse par l’intermédiaire du système national de gestion des risques (SINAGER, de ses initiales en espagnol) formé par les agences gouvernementales et le réseau d’aide humanitaire.

Des réservoirs d’eau et un réseau de distribution pour l’irrigation au goutte-à-goutte : les stratégies gouvernementales pour lutter contre la sécheresse

L’Alliance pour le corridor de la sécheresse

En 2014, l’Alliance pour le corridor de la sécheresse (Alianza para el Corredor Seco en espagnol, ou ACS) a été créée dans le cadre de la mise en œuvre de la stratégie nationale de sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle (2014-2022) et d’autres stratégies liées au changement climatique. Le programme concentre ses efforts sur la réduction de la pauvreté et de la malnutrition par le biais d’investissements stratégiques dans les communautés vulnérables du corridor de la sécheresse. Cette initiative nationale, soutenue par des bailleurs de fonds internationaux, est coordonnée par l’Unité technique de la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle, Secrétariat de la coordination générale du gouvernement du Honduras, en collaboration avec les municipalités de la région par l’intermédiaire de leurs comités d’urgence locaux, auxquels participent différents secteurs, des ONG et des groupes organisés locaux.

Les activités de l’ACS comprennent la fourniture d’équipements, d’informations et de connaissances aux petits exploitants, ainsi que de technologies appropriées et de ressources de développement des capacités des organisations d’agriculteurs dans les communautés et les municipalités des 10 départements du corridor de la sécheresse. En raison de la sécheresse qui sévit dans le pays en 2014-2016, le ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’élevage a également entrepris le programme présidentiel de récupération de l’eau, qui prévoit la construction de réservoirs, de conduites d’eau et d’un réseau de distribution pour l’irrigation au goutte à goutte.

Activités de stratification

L’objectif principal de l’ACS est de sortir 50 000 familles de la pauvreté d’ici 2020 et de réduire le retard de croissance de 20 % chez les EM5 dans les communautés cibles (une analyse des données permettant d’atteindre cet objectif est en cours). Les activités ont été élargies pour inclure l’éducation nutritionnelle et l’hygiène à la maison, la production alimentaire et la génération de revenus, la construction de réservoirs d’eau et l’irrigation au goutte-à-goutte, l’assistance technique et la formation des producteurs, l’accès au crédit agricole pour les petits et moyens producteurs, et la prévention des grossesses chez les adolescentes grâce au renforcement des capacités des 10 départements cibles.

L’approche repose également sur la compréhension du fait qu’aucune activité ne suffit à elle seule à faciliter la transformation des petits exploitants, qui passent du statut d’agriculteurs de subsistance, très vulnérables aux chocs et aux stress climatiques, à celui de producteurs de surplus intégrés dans les systèmes de marché locaux et régionaux et résistants aux chocs.

Les activités mises en œuvre sont basées sur les principes suivants :

Les activités de nutrition comprennent l’éducation à la santé, à l’hygiène et à la nutrition visant à livrer des messages clés pour la promotion d’un mode de vie sain. La diversification des cultures à haute valeur nutritionnelle est également encouragée afin d’augmenter la production et l’accès aux aliments à haute teneur en micronutriments (maïs, haricots et patates douces biofortifiés) pour prévenir la malnutrition due au manque de micronutriments. Nombre de ces activités, y compris la formation et les actions visant à atténuer les effets du changement climatique, sont mises en œuvre au niveau communautaire à l’aide des plateformes existantes. Celles-ci comprennent des associations locales (telles que des groupes de femmes rurales, des logements ruraux, des surveillants de la nutrition des enfants, ou des bénévoles de la santé) et des dirigeants communautaires (tels que des représentants des offices de l’eau, des membres des comités d’urgence locaux, des associations de parents d’élèves, etc.) qui offrent la possibilité de montrer les résultats obtenus à d’autres familles afin d’encourager le changement des cultures et des habitudes alimentaires.

Défis et prochaines étapes

Les fonds destinés à la gestion des bassins fluviaux dans le corridor de la sécheresse sont insuffisants, et il faut donc mener des actions de sensibilisation pour obtenir un financement plus important. Parmi les autres enjeux, citons la nécessité de sensibiliser les parties prenantes et de diffuser les questions relatives au changement climatique et à la gestion intégrée des ressources en eau aux niveaux national et local, ainsi que de renforcer les mécanismes de dialogue entre les acteurs du changement climatique dans les secteurs public et privé. Le manque de données permettant de mesurer l’impact de ces diverses activités liées au changement climatique et, de fait, leur efficacité pour réduire la malnutrition, représente un défi supplémentaire.

Une deuxième phase du programme ACS est prévue, sous réserve d’un octroi de fonds par les partenaires nationaux et externes. Il est également prévu d’intégrer des mesures d’adaptation au changement climatique et d’atténuation de ses effets dans les plans de développement régionaux et municipaux.

Read more...

1 L’état de la sécurité alimentaire et de la nutrition dans le monde (2017). FAO

2 https://globalnutritionreport.org/resources/nutrition-profiles/latin-america-and-caribbean/central-america/honduras/#profile

3 Encuesta Permanente de Hogares de Propósitos Múltiples en Honduras (2017) Instituto Nacional de Estadísticas (INE)

4 Índice de Riesgo Climático Global según (GermanWatch)

More like this

FEX: Facteurs opérationnels dans l'intégration de la nutrition dans les programmes d'agriculture et de moyens d'existence au Zimbabwe

Par Anne-Marie Mayer, Rose Ndolo et Jane Keylock Read an English version of this article here Anne-Marie Mayer travaille comme consultante pour des programmes à...

NEX: Éditorial

Visualiser cet article en PDF Read an English version of this article here En novembre 2019, plus d'une centaine de représentants de pays se sont réunis...

FEX: Intervention multi-sectorielle et qui prend en compte la nutrition en cas d'alerte à la sécheresse au Pakistan

Par Ali Dino Kunbher, Shafqat Ullah et Dr Mazhar Alam Ali Dino Kunbher est directeur de programme pour la Welthungerhilfe (WHH) à Sindh, au Pakistan, qui s'occupe...

FEX: Défis humanitaires régionaux dans le Sahel

Nouvelles Résumé du rapport:1 Lieu: Le Sahel Ce que nous savons: En ce moment, le Sahel fait face à une crise complexe engendrée par les...

FEX: Comment fonctionnent les programmes d’alimentation scolaire locaux et à bas coût ? Enseignements tirés du Malawi

Par Devon Jaffe-Urell, Bernard Chigaya, Alexander Mwangonde, Victor Kadzinje, Paul Nguluwe, Edward Joy et Helen Moestue Read an English version of this article here Devon...

FEX: La coordination des groupes dans les interventions d'urgence menées par le gouvernement en Éthiopie

Par Amal Tucker Brown, Orla Mary O'Neill et Ki Yeon Yoon Read an English version of this article here Amal Tucker Brown travaille pour l'UNICEF depuis 2007. Elle a...

NEX: Creuser jusqu'au niveau infranational : Mise en oeuvre multisectorielles au Kenya, au Népal et au Sénégal

L'équipe de Gestion des Connaissances SUN de l'ENN Des progrès substantiels ont été accomplis dans la défense de renforcement de programmes...

FEX: Programme Déviance Positive/ Foyer de World Vision : expériences multi-pays

Read an English version of this article here Par Diane Baik Diane est conseillère technique en santé et nutrition auprès de l'Organisation des services...

FEX: Groupe de nutrition en Somalie : pack de prévention intégrée famine

Par Samson Desie Read an English version of this article here Desie Samson est spécialiste de la nutrition et travaille actuellement comme coordonnateur du groupe de...

FEX: L’ONU unie dans l’action pour la nutrition en Afghanistan – Traduire la politique mondiale en actes : changement de stratégie pour lutter contre l’émaciation

Read an English version of this article here Par Maureen L. Gallagher, Martin Ahimbisibwe, Dr Muhebullah Latifi, Dr Zakia Maroof, Dr Said Shamsul Islam Shams et Mursal...

FEX: Interventions pour renforcer la résilience du système de santé suite à la sécheresse d'El Niño en Éthiopie

Par Amal Tucker Brown et Eric Alain Ategbo Read an English version of this article here Amal Tucker Brown travaille pour l'UNICEF depuis 2007 et a rejoint le bureau de...

FEX: Expériences de programmation multisectorielle au Malawi

Par Felix Pensulo Phiri Read an English version of this article here Felix Pensulo Phiri est Directeur de la nutrition au Département de la nutrition, et du VIH/sida...

FEX: Évaluation de l’impact d’un programme de protection sociale axé sur la nutrition dans le nord du Nigéria

Read an English version of this article here Par Caroline Antoine, Stella Esedunme, Céline Sinitzky Billard, Sabi'u Suleiman Shehu et Gladys Esther Ahuwan Caroline...

FEX: Action intégrée post-Rome : expériences du nord-est du Nigeria

Par Kirathi Reuel Mungai et Adeola Goriola Makanjuola Read an English version of this article here Kirathi Reuel Mungai est un spécialiste de la nutrition qui...

FEX: Mise en place des critères d'admission élargis (CAE) pour la malnutrition aiguë en Somalie : enseignements provisoires

Read an English version of this article here Par John Ntambi, Pramila Ghimire, Ciara Hogan, Madina Ali Abdirahman, Dorothy Nabiwemba, Abdiwali Mohamed Mohamud, Abdirizak Osman...

FEX: Groupe nutrition du Yémen : programme intégré famine-prévention

Par Anna Ziolkovska Read an English version of this article here Anna Ziolkovska est actuellement coordonnatrice du Groupe nutrition au Yémen. Anna est titulaire...

FEX: Renforcer les capacités nationales de préparation et d’intervention en matière de nutrition d’urgence en Asie de l’Est et dans le Pacifique

Read an English version of this article here Par Mueni Mutunga, Caroline Abla, Alexandra Rutishauser-Perera et Sri Sukotjo Mueni Mutunga est spécialiste...

FEX: Répondre à la malnutrition aiguë pendant une situation d'urgence : résultats et avantages d'un programme de prévention intégré au Cameroun

Read an English version of this article here Par Eveline Ngwenyi, Mica Jenkins, Nicolas Joannic et Cécile Patricia Eveline Ngwenyi est responsable nutrition au...

FEX: Résultats et enseignements tirés des efforts déployés par le PAM pour aider les adolescentes au Niger

Par Alexandra Pirola, Benedict Tabiojong Mbeng et Mica Jenkins Read an English version of this article here Alexandra Pirola a travaillé en tant que responsable des...

Close

Reference this page

José Lino Pacheco, Susan Lopez, Adriana Hernandez, Lucía Escobar (). Adaptation au changement climatique et atténuation de ses effets sur la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle au Honduras. Nutrition Exchange 13, April 2020. p26. www.ennonline.net/nex/13/fr/honduras

(ENN_6646)

Close

Download to a citation manager

The below files can be imported into your preferred reference management tool, most tools will allow you to manually import the RIS file. Endnote may required a specific filter file to be used.

Menu ENN Search

Adaptation and mitigation of climate-change effects on food and nutrition security in Honduras

View this article as a pdf

Lisez cet article en français ici

José Lino Pacheco is Director of the Food and Nutrition Security Technical Unit, Secretary of General Coordination of the Government of Honduras and the SUN country Focal Point.

Susan Lopez is a Food and Nutrition Security Specialist in the Food and Nutrition Security Technical Unit and Secretary of General Coordination in the Government of Honduras.

Adriana Hernandez is an Associate Professor of Human Nutrition and Food Security  in the Department of Food Sciences at Zamorano University, Honduras.

Lucía Escobar is an Associate of the Nutrition Programme for the UN World Food Programme, Honduras

Introduction

Honduras is a Central American country with a population of over nine million, comprising nine different ethnic groups. Hunger is on the rise and is estimated to affect 1.4 million people (2017)1. Almost one in four (23%) children under five years old (CU5) are stunted; in the more vulnerable areas, this increases to one in every two2.  At the same time, rapid urbanisation is leading to increased consumption of processed foods and lower levels of physical activity, which are contributing to rising levels of overweight and obesity and risk of nutrition-related non-communicable diseases (NCDs). Approximately 51% of women in Honduras are overweight or obese (2012)2.

A high percentage of the population live in poverty (64%) and extreme poverty (40%), with most of the extremely poor living in rural areas (69%)3.  Honduras also has a high vulnerability to climate change4 and lies in what is called the ‘Dry Corridor’, an area that is particularly susceptible to irregular and long-lasting droughts. The increase in climate effects has given rise to new challenges; as a result, the resilience of the population needs to be built up to address undernutrition, overweight/obesity and NCDs. 

Policy and plans in Honduras to address climate change

The main policy in Honduras that seeks to help the population adapt to the effects of climate change is the Climate Change Policy Framework. This includes objectives for agriculture, soil and food security, as well as improving the resilience of crops and pastures to thermal and water stress and preventing or reducing the incidence of pests and diseases. Other objectives include combatting soil erosion, loss of productivity and desertification in order to preserve and improve the nutritional quality of foods.

Linked to this policy is the National Climate Change Adaptation Plan (2018-2030), which prioritises agri-food production and food sovereignty, and strengthening early-warning and risk-management systems for extreme natural events. The plan also focuses on expanding partnerships with government departments, private sector, academia, UN agencies and international and national non-governmental organisations (NGOs) to maximise integrated approaches for increased smallholder productivity and income generation through more sustainable food systems.

Linking humanitarian and development responses

In a context of increasing complexity due to poverty, undernutrition, increasing overweight and obesity, climate-change effects and a history of drought emergencies, government and its partners are investing in more sustainable solutions to restore the natural resource base, protect communities against climate shocks and predict extreme weather events. Strengthening the resilience and adaptive capacity of smallholder farmers, whose yields are often lower than all other food producers, is seen as pivotal to preventing hunger and malnutrition in Honduras. The country’s worst drought, in 2014-16, triggered the declaration of an emergency, with a focus on helping 280,000 families most affected by the drought via the National Risk Management System (SINAGER, from its initials in Spanish) formed by government agencies and the humanitarian aid network.

Water reservoirs and a distribution network for drip irrigation are government strategies to tackle drought

The Alliance for the Dry Corridor

In 2014, the Alliance for the Dry Corridor (Alianza para el Corredor Seco in Spanish, or ACS) was created as part of implementing the National Food and Nutrition Security Strategy (2014-2022) and other strategies related to climate change. The programme focuses its efforts on poverty reduction and malnutrition through strategic investments in the Dry Corridor’s vulnerable communities. This country-led initiative, supported by international donors, is coordinated by the Food and Nutrition Security Technical Unit, Secretary of General Coordination in the Government of Honduras in conjunction with area municipalities through their local emergency committees, in which different sectors, NGOs and local organised groups participate.

ACS activities include providing equipment, information and knowledge to smallholders, together with appropriate technologies and the capacity development of farmers’ organisations in the communities and municipalities of the 10 Dry Corridor departments. As a result of the country’s 2014-16 drought, the Ministry of Agriculture and Livestock also undertook the Presidential Water Harvest Programme, which constructs reservoirs, water pipes and a distribution network for drip irrigation.

Layering activities

The main goal of the ACS has been to lift 50,000 families out of poverty by 2020 and to reduce stunting by 20% in CU5 in the target communities (analysis on data towards achieving this goal is currently underway). Activities were expanded to include nutrition education and hygiene in the home, food production and income generation, construction of water reservoirs and drip irrigation, technical assistance and training of producers, access to agricultural credit to small and medium producers, and the prevention of pregnancy in adolescents through strengthening the capacities of the 10 focus departments.

The approach also relies on the understanding that no single activity is enough to facilitate the transformation of smallholders from subsistence farmers, who are highly vulnerable to shocks and climate stresses, to being surplus producers who are integrated into local and regional market systems and resilient to shocks.

The activities implemented are based on the following principles:

Nutrition activities include health, hygiene and nutrition education to deliver key messages promoting a healthy lifestyle. The diversification of crops with high nutritional value is also promoted in order to increase the production of and access to foods with a high micronutrient content (biofortified corn, beans and sweet potatoes) to prevent micronutrient malnutrition. Many of these activities, including training and actions to mitigate the effects of climate change, are implemented at the community level using existing platforms. These include local associations (such as groups of rural women, rural housing, child nutrition monitors, health volunteers) and community leaders (such as representatives of water boards, members of local emergency committees, school parent associations, etc.), which provide the opportunity to demonstrate results to other families to encourage changing crops and eating habits.

Challenges and next steps

Funds for river-basin management for the Dry Corridor are insufficient, so advocacy is needed to secure greater financing. Other issues include the need to raise awareness and disseminate issues relating to climate change and integrated management of water resources at national and local level, as well as strengthening dialogue mechanisms between climate-change actors in both the public and private sectors. An added challenge is that there is a lack of data by which to measure the impact of these various climate change-related activities and, indeed, their effectiveness in reducing malnutrition.

A second phase of the ACS programme is being planned, subject to funding from national and external partners. There are also plans to incorporate climate change adaptation and mitigation actions into regional and municipal development plans.

Read more...

Footnotes

1 The State of Food Security and Nutrition in the World (2017). FAO

2 https://globalnutritionreport.org/resources/nutrition-profiles/latin-america-and-caribbean/central-america/honduras/#profile

3 Encuesta Permanente de Hogares de Propósitos Múltiples en Honduras (2017) Instituto Nacional de Estadísticas (INE)

4 Índice de Riesgo Climático Global según (GermanWatch)

More like this

NEX: Adaptation au changement climatique et atténuation de ses effets sur la sécurité alimentaire et nutritionnelle au Honduras

Visualiser cet article en PDF Read an English version of this article here José Lino Pacheco est directeur de l'Unité technique de la sécurité...

FEX: Rapid response and long-term solutions: Christian Aid and food security in Ethiopia

By Antoinette Powell Antoinette Powell is the Communications and Information Officer, Africa with Christian Aid since 2007. Previously she worked as Advocacy Officer, The...

FEX: Participatory risk analysis and integrated interventions to increase resilience of pastoral communities in Northern Kenya

By Daniel Nyabera, Charles Matemo and Muriel Calo Daniel Nyabera is Food Security and Livelihoods Programme Manager, ACF-US, Yemen Mission. Daniel has over nine years of...

NEX: Sustainable Development Goal 2: End hunger, achieve food security and improved nutrition, and promote sustainable agriculture

Agreed by all UN member states, Transforming Our World: 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, consists of a Declaration, 17 Global Goals and 169 targets, a section on means...

FEX: The Effects of Global Warming on Food Security

By Kate Godden Kate is a Senior Lecturer in the Centre for Public Health Nutrition at the University of Westminster where she teaches food security, programme planning and...

NEX: Global Panel statement on climate change, food systems and nutrition

“The Global Panel on Agriculture, Food Systems and Nutrition1 strongly believes that urgent policy action is needed to tackle the challenges that climate change poses to...

FEX: From the editor

This Field Exchange special issue on Urban Food Security and Nutrition aims to provide some insights into the learning and experience of a broad range of agencies, and...

FEX: Oxfam’s Somaliland-Ethiopia Cross Border Drought Preparedness Project

By Abay Bekele Abay Bekele works for Oxfam GB as Senior Pastoral Programme Manager. He has over nine years of technical and managerial experience in pastoral development and...

FEX: Increasing nutrition-sensitivity of value chains: a review of two Feed the Future Projects in Guatemala

By Alyssa Klein Alyssa Klein is a food security and nutrition specialist with JSI Research & Training Institute on the Strengthening Partnerships, Results, and Innovations in...

FEX: Emergency Food Security and Livelihoods Project in Amhara and Oromia regions

By Shekar Anand, Oxfam Shekar is Programme Director for Oxfam GB in Ethiopia. Past experience includes working with OXFAM, CARE, CIDA, and Government in Aceh, India, Zimbabawe...

FEX: Market-led Livelihood Recovery and Enhancement Programme and integrating ENAs

By Andrew Simons, Daniel Gebeyehu, Getachew Gemtesa and Markos Kidane Andrew Simons is the National Programme Director for Food for the Hungry (FH) Ethiopia. He holds an...

FEX: Post-drought restocking Can its impact be sustainable?

By Ahmed Alkadir Mohammed Ahmed Alkadir Mohammed is currently a Disaster Risk Management Specialist with the World Bank, Productive Safety Net Programme (PSNP) Team. Prevously...

en-net: What are specific nutrition interventions linked to climate change.

In our department we want to mainstream nutrition in global framework of climate-change strategy Thank you very much Veronika for such useful information. Climate change...

en-net: Vacancy for Nutrition Manager - Mozambique with Concern Worldwide

Reference: RD/MOZ/NM Country: Mozambique Job Title: Nutrition Manager Contract Grade: B Contract Length: 2 Years Date Needed By: October 2013 New Post or Replacement: New...

Combining a mid-day meal, health service package and peer support in Karnataka State, India

Combining a mid-day meal, health service package and peer support in Karnataka State, India View this article as a pdf Uma Mahadevan is Principal Secretary in the...

FEX: Barriers to resilience: chronic poverty, climate change and disasters in the southwest of Bangladesh

By Caitlin Macdonald, Peggy Pascal and Dany Egreteau Caitlin Macdonald has been working for Solidarités International as a DRR & Climate Change Officer in the Bangladesh...

NEX: El Salvador: the road from national nutrition strategy to local implementation

View this article as a pdf Lisez cet article en français ici Dáysi de Marquez is Executive Director of the National Council for Food Security and Nutrition...

NEX: Editorial

View this article as a pdf Lisez cet article en français ici In November 2019, over one hundred countries came together in Katmandu, Nepal as part of the SUN Movement...

FEX: Climate Changeas a driver of humanitarian crisis and response

Summary of published research1 Thousands of Somalis have been displaced by what is described as the worst floods in the country in 10 years. Tufts University has recently...

NEX 13 El Salvador, Honduras

NEX13 highlights Latin America: articles on community-level efforts to improve nutrition in El Salvador and mitigating the effects of climate change on food security in Honduras.

Close

Reference this page

José Lino Pacheco, Susan Lopez, Adriana Hernandez, Lucía Escobar (2020). Adaptation and mitigation of climate-change effects on food and nutrition security in Honduras. Nutrition Exchange 13, March 2020. p26. www.ennonline.net/nex/13/honduras

(ENN_6610)

Close

Download to a citation manager

The below files can be imported into your preferred reference management tool, most tools will allow you to manually import the RIS file. Endnote may required a specific filter file to be used.